Visit Sri Lanka

Tuesday oct.18 2005
Leaving for Sri Lanka. It took exaclty 24 hours to get in Colombo.
In plane we met 8 nurses and doctors from Belgium.They went to Matara to do vollenteer work in hospital, for 6 weeks in their own free time.They told us they get 100 to 150 patients a day to help. Heavy job. I admire such guys
Their was also a man and woman who went to help a Belgian lady who build houses with her own money for the most poor ppl.It seemed that there were a lot of ppl on board who went with a mission.
 
My day would be friday oct 28.
With the money i had we could buy 80 schoolbags with books,pens and everything .My friends Duminda, Eranga an Jihan did such a great job to get these things ready. Bags were kept in their house.
 
Day before Eranga (friend for life) came to bring us to Colombo. Waited a while till everybody was there.
With help from Sanjiva,,got van to transport these bags to Belihuloya. It was a trip I think of 6 or 7 hours.
Arrived in Belihuloya at 1 PM. Had a drink and went for bed. Nice place by the way.Swimming pool just before our room.
 
In the morning first  a swim .Wow it was beautiful there. Nature and so quiet.Like this place.
 
Made ourselves ready to leave for school.With help from Duminda, with whom I talked a lot of what i would do with the money , and Sanjiva,, we came to help this school.
 
When we arrived the whole school was out to pay us a warm welcome.
Kids were gving us leaves. later of course asked my friends, what this meant.Dont wanna insult ppl. CEO welcomed us.School was filled with children.Our group had to sit in front.First a lady teacher did some speech.Later on a buddisht monk did prayer. Very impressive.Took a while. and light candles.
Children did sing and dance, It was really good. Than I had to speech. I thought I had to, but i never talked before so much ppl. But went good..friends say.
Than we gave the bags. Teachers had a list of 80  most poor, and needed kids to get such bag.
Later we were invited for tea, and eat milk rice. 
 
We visited, after leaving the school, another school, I had still something to give.Not that much.But the meanng was there. What we saw there……. These kids need more   ……..
 
They are so poor….Some kids had no shoes,, have no breakfast sometime.
So we all decided  THIS IS OUR NEXT MISSION.
We gonna make it.  U know guys..
This afternoon I went to the shop for paying my bill ( Have new glases)
and the man asked me abt my mission (I told him abt it) and he promished me already some donation.
 
After this I have such a good feeling, and everybody who was with me.
Wana thank, my husband (who agrees to give money and go all the time with me)My more than close friend Duminda, Eranga (good driver did a hell of a job) and Jihan Cousin who helped a lot. and Sanjiva who arranged things and drove the van.
 
THANX  THANX   THANX   THANX   THANX   From the bottom of my heart.  I will be back. 
 
If u wanna see pics of this event watch my Sri Lanka pics of october.I know there are many pics but when u hold on  ….lol U se pics of school. 🙂
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Personal things. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Visit Sri Lanka

  1. Golfing Lady says:

    Hi Marij,Missed reading your blog while you were gone. What a great mission you and hubby took part in. Wonderful pictures and gorgeous people. Great job.Pat

  2. Kumari says:

    HiThanks for being so kind to our country.Chamaree

  3. Jacqui's says:

    Hi Sweeti pie! Glad you made it home safe! I missed you. You have an amazing life, and a big heart. I’m proud to know you! Beautiful pics!

  4. meltem says:

    SweetiiiWelcome back… as far as i can see the photos it’s amazing… and you did a great job!Meltem

  5. Christopher says:

    Wow!!! you came here!! I’m really sorry that I missed you!! I was in Manar, away from Colombo the last few days. I have been so busy with my best friend’s wedding that I haven’t had any time to touch my space. anyway I’m back again and I would like to give you a hug and thank you for all your sweet comments pal. I’m only sorry that I couldnt meet you this time Marij…..Take care of yourself,Your pal, Chris

  6. paulina says:

    jeetje goed zeg allemaal en zo lief van je ..heb het gelezen en het is daar prachtig de natuur als ik de fotos bekijk ,,fijn dat je weer goed thuis bent gekomen .. en ondanks de armoe daar heb je ook genoten .. wel heel zielig voor die kids dat ze geen eten hebben of schoentjes maar je hebt ze gesteund en das heel wat ..heb respect voor je .. gewoon al dat je er na toegaat wat je allemaal doet .. verder wens ik je een heel fijn weekend meid liefs paulina kus en knuffel

  7. priyanga says:

    heyu did a great job.thnx 4 every thing wht u did for our poor cuntry.i know how they lives in village.they can do lot of things.but no body help them.they only poor from financial side but they have more skills and talent than others.thnx again Marijj.

  8. Marc says:

    Super dat je zo’n goed gevoel over je trip hebt Marij, je mag trots op je zelf zijn !!! Marc

  9. Tida says:

    Welcome back, SweetiYou did such a wonderful job. After seeing your pics, I was really impressed for what you did in SL. To me, you’re really nice and amazing woman..I wish one day I could be like you …take care

  10. gopal says:

    WOW! great place. great snaps. I hope to go there some day soon too! Luckily I’m closer to Lanka than you.

  11. Joseph says:

    welcome back from srilanka :DYoUnG_JoE

  12. Shawn SKC says:

    Hello there, It’s been sometimes since i’ve heard from you and i was so busy with my work.. I have no time to check my mail or my space.. Well i get to know that you been having a great time in Sri Lanka… Well my turn is next, I’m going to Cambodia for 3 week relaxation trip with my fellas friend… So hope you are having a nice day back in town.. Good day and have a nice day.. Muakhs from a friend far-far away from galaxy..

  13. Shawn SKC says:

    Hello there, It’s been sometimes since i’ve heard from you and i was so busy with my work.. I have no time to check my mail or my space.. Well i get to know that you been having a great time in Sri Lanka… Well my turn is next, I’m going to Cambodia for 3 week relaxation trip with my fellas friend… So hope you are having a nice day back in town.. Good day and have a nice day.. Muakhs from a friend far-far away from galaxy..

  14. Jacqui's says:

    ~ A Snowball ~ *runs away before gets hit* Let it snow! ~You have just been hit with an snow ball!~ It’s the start of…a Snow Ball Fight One rule to this game…. You can NOT hit someone who has already hit you! Now…go out there and get as many people as you can,before they get you! I got you first! and you can’t get me back! Nanee – Nanee – Nanee! (he he he) We do not stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing. Never Be The First To Get Old!!!

  15. Laf says:

    hello,thanks a lot for your comments in my space. i’m on my vacation. looking forward to meeting you when u visit maldives. You can add my id in your favorite. i will be flattered 🙂 thanks a lotHave a great day!Wahoo

  16. Jaime Campbell says:

    Wow, Sweeti, that’s so wonderful. I loved the pictures and your entry on what you did. I am so glad that you did that. And for your future mission. I am proud to know you.I enjoyed seeing the pictures of you and your husband. You are so pretty! It’s wonderful to get to see pictures of the people that I’m so fond of.I love you, Sweeti! And I’m glad that we’re both back home and get to write regularly again.Love to you!Jaime, your Sweetie!

  17. A Utah Woman Am I says:

    Welcome back again Sweeti!I enjoyed reading up about your accounts of Sri Lanka. I hope that the speech went okay, but if your friends said it was good, I can only imagine that it was! 🙂 The pictures are still breathtaking as I look at them again. It seems to be a great country–and the pictures only eccentuate this beauty.A pool right in front of your room? That must of been wonderful. I enjoy an early morning swim, or a late night one at that. They are just so peaceful; you are right, the nature stillness just makes it one of those moments where you can experience "awe".I hope you have a fabulous Monday Sweeti! Do take care of yourself!-Kelsey

  18. Supun says:

    Hey Marij,You sound like you are doing a lot of humanitarian work for Sri Lanka. From the bottom of my heart, I wanna thank you. I am Australian, but parents are from SL. I was there on the day of the Tsunami.. it was a dreadful disaster.So what do you do besides humanitarian work? do you have a full-tome job?like to hear from youSupun.

  19. sweeti's says:

    SupunWanna react on ur comment Give me some mail adresss PLZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Leave a Reply

