TinTin

Herge and TIN TIN

I was not aware  that we had  a wonderful creator of comic books in Belgium ..Untill Vijay asked to write  abt  TinTin. We  call him Kuifje in dutch .I wonder why he could  not  keep his own name in different languages. I mean a name is a name and even his lil doggy  we call  Bobbi  and in  Tintin book his called Snowy.

Tintin and Snowy the main caracters

 

Tintin is a young Belgian reporter who becomes involved in dangerous cases in which he takes heroic action to save the day. Almost every adventure features Tintin hard at work at his investigative reporting, but he is rarely seen actually turning in a story without first getting caught up in some misadventure. He is a young man of more or less neutral attitudes and is less colourful than the supporting cast. In this respect, he represents the everyman.

Snowy, a white Fox terrier, is Tintin’s four-legged companion. They regularly save each other from perilous situations. Snowy frequently "speaks" to the reader through his thoughts (often displaying a dry sense of humour), which are supposedly not heard by the characters in the story except in Tintin in America where he explains Tintin about his absence for a period of time in the book.

Like Captain Haddock, Snowy is fond of the Loch Lomond brand of whisky, and his occasional bouts of drinking tend to get him into trouble, as does his raging arachnophobia. The French name of Snowy, "Milou", has nothing to do with snow or the color white. It has been widely credited as an oblique reference to a girlfriend from Hergé’s youth, Marie-Louise Van Cutsem, whose nickname was "Milou"

Even  the book Tintin in Tibet is translated in Esperanto.

Afbeelding:Light of Truth 2006.jpg

 

Other caracters are

Bianca Castafiore is an opera singer whom Haddock absolutely despises. However, she seems to constantly be popping up wherever they go, along with her maid, Irma, and pianist, Igor Wagner. Her name means "white and chaste flower"

Thomson and Thompson  (Jansen  and Janssen  In dutch) are a pair of detectives. It is unclear whether the two are related; they have different names but are referred to as twins or brothers at least twice in the series. In any case, the two clumsy detectives look like twins and can only be told apart by the shape of their moustaches. They provide much of the comic relief throughout the series, as they are afflicted with spoonerism. They are thoroughly incompetent, and always bent on arresting the wrong character, but in spite of this they somehow get entrusted with delicate missions

 

Well  the strips are still collecters items.

 Last saterday there was an  auction  in Paris a guy payed 674.200 euro for a gouache  made for the cover of Tintin  in America in 1932 

This entry was posted in Boeken. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to TinTin

  1. Princess says:

    Yo Sweeti! Aaaaawwww, I loved Tin Tin!! Thanks 4 bringing the mems back! Hope u have a Fantastic Weekend! Luv PF XXX

  2. sara says:

    also in Italy there was..and maybe there is TINTIN..but i have always ask to me: is TINTIN the brother of Olive Oyl(the girlfriend or the wife of Popeye?!)it seems like her!! don’t ya think?!
     
    KISSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.

  3. Adrian says:

    Hey, I loved Tin Tin as a kid..:-)
    Adrian

  4. R U Serious says:

    Hi Sweeti!  Yet again you have taught me some things I did not know!!  I have never heard of Tin Tin but he looks familiar!
     
    Hope you are having a Great week!

  5. Donna says:

    Hi, Sweeti!
    Sorry, I haven’t been around lately. I am only on about once or twice a week now but will try to visit more often! Tintin, sounds like an interesting character! Hope all is well with you. Take care, XX

  6. renay says:

    thanks for teaching me something new.

  7. Princess says:

    hi sweeti,I love this character for i’m lil interested in detective spirit ;)I never knew he has got different names in different places..-Aiz.

  8. Nozee says:

    TinTin is still my hero!

  9. Trouble says:

    Ho! that’s smthing new abt TinTin! 😀
    I still love watching his movies 😀
     
    Hey l’ll Sophie looks adorable! 🙂
     

  10. Ashwini says:

    Hi 🙂
    How have you been? I took a leave from office, it is a sick-leave… I wantd to rest and drive the back pain away.
     
    What a lovely coincidence this is. I just finished reading my two new Tintin books this morning and here I see this post 🙂
    Tintin books are expensive here, so I picked up most of my collection from a second-hand book shop. I purchased two of them brand-new yesterday!
    I simply love Captain Haddock, and all the adjectives he uses 😀
    Interesting bit of news, I wasn’t aware of a different name for Tintin and Snowy. I have seen some new comics of Herge in the bookstore, but I didn’t pick them up… wasn’t sure if I would enjoy them.
    Tc
     

  11. N M says:

    i loved tintin haddock snowy and the detective twins and the butler. the whole characterization was flawless.

  12. Isabelle says:

    Tintin et Milou are well know here in Mauritius. We can even follow there advantures on TV.
     
    I so like when Haddock goes crazy saying "names"LOL
     
    Thank you for sharing!
     
    Take care,
    Isa 

  13. Adrian says:

    I probably would still read Tin Tin if I had the comic book! (lol)  You too have a sunny and wonderful weekend ( shaking..etc…:))
     
    Cheers,
    Adrian

  14. Billy says:

    Hello Marijke,
    Thanks for your lovely comments. Yes, my friend, you must visit India, and make a round trip to the "Golden Triangle" of Delhi, Agra, and Jaipur. It will be a great advanture, I can assure you.
     
    My supermodels… hahaha… for the past 10 years, I have made it a point to take my angels to all the faschinating places around the world, and they thoroughly enjoy it every time. Lucky them!
     
    I just wrote a piece about rainbow and I simply love it… come take a look!
    Billy
     

  15. sara says:

    HAVE A GOOD WEEKEND !
    here is the full of spring..there is
    less wind and much sun..it’s the right time  for take "tany"?maybe
    tomorrow..now i am at work..sigh! i count the hours: at 7pm i close the
    door of the shop and i forget my job for ONLY 2 days!
    i need holydayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyes!

  16. Princess says:

    Yo Sweeti! Hopping in 2 wish u a Fantastic Weekedn fulla laughter & fun! Luv PF XXX

  17. Ruma says:

    Hi Sweeti! I grew up reading Tin tin, and so have generations ahead of me! I simply adored this lovable cartoon character and his friends. Tintin comics are still irresistable for me! Thanks for your inputs about the original Belgian names…we never knew that Thomson and Thompson are actually Janssen and Jansen!! Well, it’s a small world, and maybe names change to suit the reader’s language and culture with which he is familiar with.Bye for now…have fun!

  18. Enter says:

    TinTin in Tibet was the first book of that series that I got my hands on…a great cartoon series it is!

  19. Nina says:

    By the way, I love Tintin and his little dog…even to this day!
     
    PS. My Mom might be game to go up in a glider! Though I know she’d prefer to live on a boat in her next life!
     
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

