New Year

 

Happy New Year  for my Buddhist Friends

There are many holidays and festivals celebrated by Buddhists around the world each year, most of which commemorate important events in the life of the Buddha or various Bodhisattvas. The date of the holidays are based on the lunar calendar and often different by country and tradition.                                                                                        

Buddhist holidays are joyful occasions. A festival day normally begins with a visit to the local temple, where one offers food or other items to the monks and listens to a Dharma talk. The afternoon might consist of distributing food to the poor to earn merit, circumambulating (walking around) the temple three times in honor of the Three Jewels, chanting and meditation.  

Buddhist New Year

The Buddhist New Year is celebrated on different days throughout the world. In Theravadin countries (Thailand, Burma, Sri Lanka, Cambodia and Laos), the new year is celebrated for three days from the first full moon day in April. In Mahayana countries, the new year usually starts on the first full moon day in January, and Tibetan Buddhists generally celebrate it in March.

Sri Lanka New Year  for forgottten tsunami  victims

Sinhala New Year

New year celebration, among the most forgotten of the tsunami

Dozens of families are "forgotten" by the government, which is holding in camps refugees with water and electricity problems – 5 bathrooms for 55 families. It is not giving them new homes, nor work or schooling. A gift package of a few euro will make the celebration of the new year more serene, on April 13. 

Colombo- A gift package for the poorest victims of the tsunami of 2004, to allow them to celebrate Suriya Mangallaya (Feast of the sun), the new year of the Sinhala and Tamils, which falls between April 13 and 14.  In the Sunanda Upananda camp in Moratuwa, a district of Colombo, 52 families, "forgotten" by the state, will receive 5 kilogrammes of rice, two coconuts, some clothing, and handmade traditional sweets, at a value of about 1,500 rupees (9.10 euro). 

I hope  that for these families  the sun will start to shine  one day .Ive seen a lot during my visits .There is so much help needed .U have no idea.  Its not only a roof above their head…  Rode roos 

  Sri Lanka 2007 164Sri Lanka 2007 165                                                      

 

 

                                                                             

This entry was posted in Personal things. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Year

  1. Elle says:

    Hello there! I saw you in Garry’s space and I’m a friend of him as well so I decided to drop by and say hi. Your space is so interesting, very nice indeed, I like it. It’s so wonderful to know that you know a lot about Buddhist holiday. I’m living in Thailand and tomorrow will be the first day of my "New Year" as well, what about you? Are you living in Sri Lanka?Anyway I’m so sorry to know about the forgotten families, it is so sad. I hope one day the government will do something to make their lives better, I think all we can do is just pray for them and wish they are happy.Well, I wrote too much now lol. Hope that all is fine and drop by sometimes!Kisses,Elle

  2. ηικκιħart says:

    Hi Sweeti,
    It sounds like you have a huge heart and it’s great your able to reach out and try to help those people.
    Thanks for your beautiful comment.
    I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.
    For you> http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u205/nh07/wknd4-8nikki.gif
    Hope to see you again soon,
    Big hugs, Nikki
     

  3. Elle says:

    Hi sweeti!Thanks for your new year wishes, it means a lot for me! Do you celebrate it as well?Oh I see, you seem to have an interesting life, it is always good to help everyone who is in need, the Tsunami thing was so sad, I still remember it since it happened in Thailand as well. I wish you luck for your projects and I hope that those people will have a better life!What is your job by the way? And did you create the banner in your space? I love it! :pI sent you a friend invite no idea if you got it.See ya then, take care.x0x0xElle

  4. ₪Μy§TẲfiЄĐ₪ says:

    Hello Sweeti
    This is a beautiful tribute that you have done
    And it’s very obvious that you care so much for life
     
    For you…

     
    Garry xox
     

  5. Jorge says:

    You’re right. There is so much help that’s needed, and we are fortunate to have helpers like you. I spent a long time doing this kind of work in Indonesia, Thailand, and a long time, Afghanistan. The givers receive as much as they give. Be well,
    J.

  6. Elle says:

    Hello there.How is your new year in Sri Lanka? I wish you a happy new year. :pOh I see, your online friend seems so talented, I really like the words "Nothing Else Matters" is it from a song?I think you did the right thing, these people deserve to have a wonderful life, I believe that, you seem to be a generous girl. :-)Happy new year then! Thanks for accepting my invite!x0x0xElle

  7. Michiko's says:

    I read from the news papers that so many people’ from tsunami victims were still strugging their life to living…
    I hope they enjoy the new years celebrations.
    Thank you for sharing about this special time, "A Happy New Year for these countries people".
    SAYONARA,
    xxxoo 

  8. Isabel says:

    Hello Sweeti Dear!
    Thank you for your new year wishes …mine was in february like the chinese!
    Ah puffffffff some Sun is going your way! lol!
    Here its sunny but not cery warm yet! Anyway it makes me happy!
     

    Most people come into our lives and quickly leave. It is the special few that come in and leave a footprint in our hearts that makes the difference! Friends are like stars…we may not see them but we know where they are!

    I wish you a great week ahead,Lots of love from Isa 

  9. Aseladika says:

    Hey Sweety,
     
    No offence, but what we celebrate here in Sri Lanka is NOT a religious event at all ( I don’t know about the other buddhist countries). What we celebrate is Sinhala new year which is a cultural festival.
     
    Elle > Sweety doesn’t live in Sri Lanka, but she has been here several times (has done great things) and she has many <wink> friends in Sri Lanka.
     
    P.S > I will definitely invite you to my wedding. but you have to wait 2 -3 years for that. Still remember the fun we had in Dumma’s wedding. We watched the video last nite, and dumma said he will send you a copy.
     
    Ase

  10. Michiko's says:

    Hi Sweeti san,
    Your Q: Sayonara Good bye, Yes! I had no idea as you saidLOL!
    I hope that your damaged the computer be back soon …
    Enjoy your friends the wedding,
    See you soon,
    xxxoo    

  11. Elle says:

    Hi Sweeti!Oh I see, I have lots of online friends who are from Belgium as well. :p Hehe I love the music by the way.What languages can you speak?x0x0x

  12. Aseladika says:

    Hey Sweety,
     
    I dun have a copy of the vid with me, But Nilam has it. So if you don’t get it from Dumma, I will send it to you. These days i am bit busy with my "personal things". Btw haven’t heard from dumma yet and hope he’s doing fine in Italy.
     
    Elle > The banner was made by a friend called Dumma. I still remember all 3 of us (me, dumma, sweety) had banners which look like the one in Sweety’s space with same color scheme yet different variations.
     
    Ase
     
     
     

  13. Aseladika says:

    Oops should have said Duminda uncle instead of Dumma <It’s bit hard to get used to it …. HA HA HA>

  14. sara says:

    hi sweeeeeeeeeeeti!!!!!!!

  15. R U Serious says:

    Hi Sweeti!!!  I have missed your smiling face on my space so I had to visit!  I hope you are well but I think you are busy being a kind, thoughtful, wonderful person!!  That is what makes you ‘Sweeti’!!!
     
    Take good care,
    Bob~

  16. Elle says:

    Hi sweeti!Wow, you speak lots of languages and that’s so cool! For me I speak Thai, English and a little Spanish as well.What is your job? Yeah, I have lots of Belgian friends, maybe you can visit some of them through my comment section.How are you doing lately?x0x0x

  17. ηικκιħart says:

    Hi Sweeti,
    How are you? I hope all is well and you had a good week.
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend.
    Big hugs, Nikki
     

Leave a Reply

