Buddha’s thought

 Tx  Cha  for sending me this

Once Buddha was travelling with a few of his followers. While they were passing a lake, Buddha told one of his disciples, “I am thirsty. Do get me some water from the lake.” 
The disciple walked up to the lake. At that moment, a bullock cart started crossing through the lake. As a result, the water became very muddy and turbid. The disciple thought, “How can I give this muddy water to Buddha to drink?” 
So he came back and told Buddha, “The water in there is very muddy. I don’t think it is fit to drink.” 
After about half an hour, again Buddha asked the same disciple to go back to the lake.

 
The disciple went back, and found that the water was still muddy. He returned and informed Buddha about the same.

 
After sometime, again Buddha asked the same disciple to go back.

 
This time, the disciple found the mud had settled down, and the water was clean and clear. So he collected some water in a pot and brought it to Buddha.

 
Buddha looked at the water, and then he looked up at the disciple and said,” See what you did to make the water clean. You let it be, and the mud settled down on its own and you have clear water.

 
Your mind is like that too ! When it is disturbed, just let it be. Give it a little time. It will settle down on its own. You don’t have to put in any effort to calm it down. It will happen. It is effortless.”
 
Having ‘Peace of Mind’ is not a strenuous job; it is an effortless process!
 
TREAT EVERYONE WITH POLITENESS
EVEN THOSE WHO ARE RUDE TO YOU
NOT BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT NICE
BUT BECAUSE YOU ARE NICE.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Buddha’s thought

  1. Right words at the right time…thanx for that 🙂
    Thanx also for your visit to my site…lovely to see you! And glad you enjoyed the photos 😉 Have an awesome weekend Sweeti 🙂

  2. Hi MJ,
    Wonderful post, great advice, something I should remember at times.
    A few days ago I wrote something to you about wordpress moderating comments, and censorship etc. Now that I opened my site I realize it’s actually a very cool option we have to us ourselves moderate our comments before they publish, before I thought random WP staff had to read each comment and approve it first! lol. silly me;-)
    Have a great night, Big hugs Nikki

  3. Princess says:

    enlightening story sweeti 🙂

  4. penpusherpen says:

    Such a easy thing to do, just leave your mind to settle, in this world of self doubt and forever questioning ourselves, we forget to take time out and relax…Let your mind find itself, find you and you will then find peace.. Thanks MJ, lovely post…
    Have a great week-end my friend. xPenx

  5. andro51 says:

    Yes Politeness Comes As Standard In My Gothic Realm… However Anyone That Has Ever Stubbed Their Toe On that Ghoul’s Answer To Flip-Flops Will Have Definitely Sampled A Few Alternatives… Especially During Etiquette Mode… lol A Fine Posting Sweeti… Have A Lovely Rest of Evening Now… Androgoth XXx

  6. arcticwl says:

    Sweetie, thanks for sharing this story, it is so meaningful, and everyone i guess has circumstances like this. just let it be and it will worked out…
    forward my greeting to our friend Cha,
    enjoy your Sunday!
    hugs.

  7. Michiko says:

    Hi Sweeti San,
    This was a beautiful story of an Asian country,I lives in two countries the last twenty years or more I had learnt a lots of things a good things and a bad things as always you do present nicely way between two countries…
    Thank you for sharing to us,
    Big Hugs,
    Michiko

  8. gmarilena says:

    I’m glad I found you here, ever since the move to wordpress I have been out of touch with so many friends on live spaces.

    Hope you are well.

    Your Buddha story is important, we should try to remember to relax and wait…

  9. andro51 says:

    Just calling by to see how you are Sweeti, have a most
    exciting Wednesday and enjoy yourself too… Androgoth XXx

  10. Hi MJ,
    Thanks, yes my site is coming together slowly but surely in my spare time, i’m liking wordpress more with each thing I get figured out.
    Hope your enjoying working on your projects. Have a wonderful day. Hugs, Nikki

  11. thank you for presenting this important lesson. something to always remember.
    try to keep in touch dear friend. always, eddie
    http://eddietwohawks.wordpress.com/

  12. SethPopowich says:

    I didn’t think that I needed a special invite to stop by and wish you a great day tomorrow and even a better Friday!
    Cheers to you…

Leave a Reply

